When Paul and Ringo Visit the Schoolhouse: Insert Dream Here

Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr are greeting students with me at the front door of Lexington Middle School. In the distance, I see a cadre of roadie carrying instruments and equipment to our auditorium. This unabashed Beatles fan is simply floating. Students and teachers are smiling and waiting to catch a glimpse of my guests. These two gentleman are musical icons and have decided to serve as artists-in-residence at my school. Students will have the opportunity to take a master class on musical composition, production and performance with Paul and Ringo co-teaching. Teachers will later hear a talk from Paul and Ringo on creative collaboration. I am beaming and proud that our schoolhouse is the site for this Beatles reunion. 

A principal has to dream. 

A principal has to share and invite dreams in the schoolhouse. 

Dreams ignite infinite possibilities. History has demonstrated the transformational magnitude of a simple dream. The Wright Brothers dreamed of soaring into the sky. Martin Luther King, Jr. dreamed of a beloved community where all individuals were accepted and empowered regardless of skin color. Susan B. Anthony dreamed of a world where a woman’s right to vote would never face an incredulous response.

As a child, I would stare into the night sky and imagine myself darting around distant galaxies. With a “Star Wars” Comic Book tucked under my arm, I envisioned myself as a Jedi Knight effortlessly saving Princess Leia and the universe. Those childhood fantasies fueled the momentum to transform dreams into realities as I became older.

All of my dreams became realities for all kinds of reasons: positivity, grit, discipline, resilience. Out of all of those things, I would offer that physically voicing the dream out loud proved to a pivotal and primary spark. I remember reading The Great Gatsby in high school and deciding that becoming a high school English Teacher was a dream I wanted to pursue. That dream became true and I was privileged to share my love of the written word with so many students. Stating dreams out loud proved to be life-changing on the day I met my wife. I knew that the person who would become my wife was the dream I had been waiting for all my life and I made sure to share with the nearest person when that moment happened.

As a principal, I have witnessed the sheer joy of dreams transforming a schoolhouse. Experiencing that joy with teachers and students has proven to be a reminder of my leadership purpose. Motivating and inspiring dreams for students and teachers in a positive schoolhouse is embedded at my leadership core. Nothing beats seeing a teacher literally dance in the hallway when a student achieves a new height in either mastery, creativity or growth. Watching the shared vision of a school take flight on the wings of students and teachers is akin to that joy as well. These kinds of things started with a dream. Moreover, the dream had to be vocalized, echoed and shared relentlessly.

The schoolhouse is sometimes too burdened with data walls, deadlines and other manic distractions on such a level that dreams are not given a fair space to dwell. It is essential for school leaders to model the sincere, unabashed vocalizations of dreams for the schoolhouse.

Many schools are either gearing up for a new school year or already knee-deep in the daily routine. Regardless of the time frame, it is not too late for principals to flip a faculty meeting or morning memo in order to devote time to sharing a dream. Simply starting a conversation with a colleague or student or parent by asking the question, “What is the dream for our schoolhouse?” can shift the mundane distractions of the daily grind into infinite realm of possibility.

Sharing our dreams is a courageous movement. When our dreams resonate, we sometimes have to face negative resonance. The pallor of disbelief is a readied default from naysayers. Connecting our students to an awareness of their amazing impact on our future is a necessary chord to strike without hesitation in the schoolhouse. As educators, regardless of role and title, we are called to relentlessly encourage our students and each other to dream.

When I greet the entire team of teachers and staff I am honored to serve, I plan on opening our gathering with the following:

“My dream is for Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr to visit our school and co-teach a few classes. What is your dream for our schoolhouse? Let’s share our dreams. Insert dreams here at Lexington Middle School.”

Looking forward to seeing your dreams transform and enhance the realities in your schoolhouses! I will save you seats when Paul and Ringo visit.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

