“I Have a Dream” Turns 52 Today

Here is a brief Blog post I shared today with the #EduHeroes of John F. Kennedy High School!

Team Kennedy,

At our first faculty meeting together, I cited Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” Speech as an entry point in sharing the difference between Vision and Mission.

Today marks the 52nd Anniversary of a speech which changed the world.

Dr. King’s writings were required readings in my household. I still remember carrying around a dog-eared copy of Strength to Love as a child. My father today still quotes Dr. King. If you visit the house where I grew up, the echoes of the MLK Quote: “I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.” still resonate from my father’s voice.

I am not old enough to have ever claim to know Dr. King. Fortunately, the message and dream of Martin Luther King was exemplified by my mother and father. Dr. King’s “I Have a Dream” is one of the reasons why I knew I wanted to become an educator. Martin Luther King is my superhero. I have one picture of him taken on the day of the “I Have a Dream” Speech displayed in my office. (I have a few more waiting to be hung, too.)

Here’s a link to a brief article on the background of the speech in today’s Atlanta Journal-Constitution: http://on-ajc.com/1hJuUds.

Let’s remember that dreams are the sparks that carry inspiration into reality. Our kids have dreams and it is our responsibility to assist in nurturing and supporting them.

Thanks for being such an integral part of our Time for Greatness for All Kids, All the Time at John F. Kennedy High School.

With gratitude,

Sean

Leave a Reply

